Dabbling in Syllogisms

Logic is a lot of fun to play with. (Betcha never heard that before.) Here are a couple of silly and not necessarily true proofs that I think of when I’m trying to go to sleep.

Why I Need Fake Nails

http://www.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk/p/keep-calm-and-get-your-nails-done-52/

http://www.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk/p/keep-calm-and-get-your-nails-done-52/

 

Statement 1: I need to have my nails look professional.

Statement 2: It is possible to make natural nails, painted nails, and acrylic nails look professional.

Hypothesis 1: I can have professional looking natural nails.

Statement: My nails peel when they’re left natural. They aren’t strong enough to keep a shape and they constantly snag on things, ripping to the quick, giving me a lot of pain and existing at different lengths and shapes no matter how much I work on them.

Conclusion 1: Hypothesis 1 is false.

Hypothesis 2: I can have professional looking painted nails.

Statement: From personal experience, I know that when my nails are painted, I have to paint them every day to keep them looking nice. If I don’t paint them every day they chip and peel. Often times, I don’t have the chance to paint them every day and they look terrible at work or school.

Conclusion 2: Hypothesis 2 is false.

Hypothesis 3: I can have professional looking acrylic nails.

Statement: Acrylic nails take a minimal amount of time (only an hour every other week), which is the least amount of time of all the options. Acrylic nails do not peel, chip, rip off, or break. They do not require painting, touching up, filing or any attention during their two-week life span. Acrylic nails are very bad for your natural nails.

Conclusion 3: Hypothesis 3 can be true.

Δ if I want to have professional-looking nails, I need acrylic nails. (Hubsy, are you reading this? They’re a necessity!)

Drinking Water Dehydrates The Hands

Statement L: A person is drinking an increased amount of water.

Statement M: A person uses the restroom with increased frequency.

Statement N: A person washes their hands.

Statement O: The natural oils of the hands are removed.

Statement P: Hands can crack, dry out, and even bleed.

Statement Q: L → M (If a person is drinking an increased amount of water, then they will use the bathroom with increased frequency.)

Statement R: Most people wash their hands after every instance of using the restroom. (All the nice people do, anyway.)

Statement S: N→O. O→P. (If a person washes their hands, then they remove some of the natural oils. If a person removes the natural oils of the hands, the hands can crack, dry out, and even bleed.)

Q→R                         (If a person drinks an increased amount of water, they will use the bathroom with increased frequency, and then they will wash their hands with increased frequency.)

R→S                          (If they wash their hands with increased frequency, then their hands will crack.)

Δ Q→S                     (Therefore, if a person drinks an increased amount of water, their hands will crack, clearly.)

I hope you laughed and have a great weekend, my viewing buddies!

One thought on “Dabbling in Syllogisms

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

