God & Infinity

In The Universe In Zero Words, Dana MacKenzie mentions that the concept of infinity has been around for a long time, but when the idea of multiple infinities, infinities inside infinities, came around, it challenged a lot of people’s faiths. They hesitated because to them God was infinity and multiple infinities suggest multiple gods. Sure, God could cover one infinity but that was had to be tiring so multiple infinities was just nonsense. I don’t understand much about the concept of multiple infinities, but I have two favorites.

 

1. The Big Cheese

My two favorite infinities are the simple ones. If you spent the rest of your life counting, starting with one, you would count a whole lot of numbers. Let’s call that number n. But no matter what happened to be, I could come along and count n+1. I could count for the rest of my life and come up with a large number m and add it to your n but then someone else could come along and discover n+m+1, larger than our numbers put together. And so on, and so forth. The largest number would always be still out there. We could get closer to infinity, but never reach it. That’s the Big Cheese Infinity. The basic infinity.

To me, just like to those mathematicians, God is connected to the concept of infinity, especially the basic infinity, the infinity that stretches from end to end of the endless universe.

“…Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your Presence? If I ascend to heaven, You are there. If I make my bed in the nether world, You are there. If I take the wings of the dawn, If I dwell in the remotest part of the sea, Even there Your hand will lead me…” Psalm 139

“The heaves are Yours, the earth also is Yours; the world and all it contains, You have founded them. The north and the south, You have created them.” Psalm 89

“The Lord’s loving-kindnesses indeed never cease, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning.” Lamentations 3

“Thou, O Lord, rule forever; Your throne is from generation to generation.” Lamentations 5

I believe that He is infinitely powerful, infinitely loving, and infinitely wise. As people typically refer to His vastness: omnipresent, omnipotent, and omniscient. He spreads His love for every man, every man, because He has enough love to fill all the souls that have ever existed.

 

2. The Tiny Tim

My second favorite infinity is the tiny one, the concept that there are infinite infinities just between 0 and 1. If you sliced the space between 0 and 1 in half, and then half again, and then half again, and so on, for an infinite number of times, you could always slice that distance in half again. You could always calculate a smaller piece, a thinner slice, an impossibly closer distance, and thus another infinity. If an infinity could be better than another infinity, to me, this would be it. The Tiny Tim. This Subatomic Infinity is even better than the basic infinity. It’s the Personal God to the Infinite God. They are one, but they are distinct.

If you counted every soul that’s ever existed (Adam=1, Eve=2… You=9,876,677,832,328,765,908,039,101,123) on a graph, God would be able to cover every soul ever, but more importantly, to you, that little segment, that one soul-unit, that space between 9,876,677,832,328,765,908,039,101,123 and 9,876,677,832,328,765,908,039,101,124 where you exist, He can reach down into the infinities of just you. He loves an infinite amount of people, but He loves you infinitely.

“O Lord, You have searched me and known me. You know when I sit down and when I rise up; You understand my thought from afar. You scrutinize my path and my lying down, and are intimately acquainted with all my ways. Even before there is a word on my tongue, Behold, O, Lord, You know it all… For You formed my inward parts, You wove me in my mother’s womb.” Psalm 139

“What do you think? If any man has a hundred sheep, and one of them has gone astray, does he not leave the ninety-nine on the mountains and go and search for the one that is straying?… It is not the will of your Father who is in heaven that one of you perish.” Matthew 18

“Observe how the lilies of the field grow; they do not toil nor do they spin, yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory did not clothe himself like one of these. But if God so arrays the grass of the filed, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, will He not much more do so for you?” Matthew 6

“I will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31

 

He has enough love for the masses, and He loves you enough. Go out and shine His love to the world.

 

4 thoughts on “God & Infinity

Add yours

  1. As a student of words and language, never before did I think there could be such a simply marvelous marriage between words (His affirmations and promises and intimacies) and numbers (Cheeses and Tims). You’ve caused me to marvel and wonder. How elegant!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha wow. Nice job connecting God and math. I love it! Have you ever read the knowledge of the Holy by A.W. Tozer? It speaks about the characteristics of God including his infinitude.

    When I read the title my mind went to a little bit different place, but intriguing all the same.
    Have you ever heard of the theory that there are other universes out there? Or that God will create more after the new earth/heavens are established? I think it’s highly probably since his love is alive and expository.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

