KonMari Method

There are some phenomenal guides to the KonMari method out there, uppermost of which is, of course, Marie Kondo’s book The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up. I read this book in 2014 and went through the entire apartment with the aid of my husband and no help from my little newborn girl. I remember how startling the change was. It was amazing.

Essentially, her books is a fantastic and simple guide to going through all of your things and really changing your mindset about stuff. Her method is special to me for two reasons: 1) when you go through items, you must take them all out and put them on the floor. This step is seriously dark magic. Somehow, the transition process from closet or bookcase to big heaping pile or stack on the floor is huge. Honestly, this makes the difference. I don’t know why but it does. 2) Get rid of everything that doesn’t spark joy. Yes, it’s that simple. Use your gut. If you want a more detailed review of the book, I greatly agreed with Blair Blogs’ review.

So if it was so great, why did I have to do it again? We recently made the transition from couple to family and from apartment to house. In the great upheaving life change of the past few years, things have collected, dispersed, multiplied, and snuck past my notice. Also, with the transition from college to pregnant to working, my closet has changed not only in sizes but also in style.

To prepare for 2016, I employed the 10×10 goal-setting guide. (Blog post coming soon.) My wardrobe has always been a dully aching pain point and an uninspiring snore, so I made the goal to resist mediocrity: a complete overhaul!–without spending a ton of money. My first step was to engage the KonMari method once more, now that the house has settled into a routine.

IMG_6934

This is what my start looked like. It’s not great, y’all. Truly, truly a disaster zone. My finished product, however, makes it all worth while:

IMG_6956IMG_6957

I’m on the hunt for a more sophisticated chair and an end table to go in this corner, but I’m pretty darn pleased with how it turned out. Having gone through the KonMari process before, I was unafraid when the thought “what if I miss it?!” or “will I have enough?” popped into my head. I haven’t missed anything that I’ve gotten rid of yet.

Kondo is a big supporter of creating a zen space in your closet and just look at these drawers! Now you tell me this isn’t #closetpeace.

I am blessed with a large closet, but I don’t want that to be an excuse for unnecessary excess! I want to enjoy the space, however much or little I have now or in the future. An integral component of utilizing space is Kondo’s folding techniques and I used them with every drawer. I’m a big advocate of this particular method and it makes mundane things quite aesthetic, if I do says so myself.

Coming soon, part 2 of this process: a review of the app Stylebook.

 

How do you organize your closet? Let me know in the comments below!

6 thoughts on “KonMari Method

Add yours

  1. I organize my closet based on types of clothing (cardigan, dress, skirts/pants, sleeveless, and sleeved. I like to have a clean floor space which makes it difficult since I live with my aunt and uncle and my storage (usable/accessible storage) is limited to my closet and the space under my bed. I think a little closet magic is in the books for me…

    Question: Do you donate your leftovers to Goodwill? A charity? Put them on a street corner?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What?! That’s awesome. I sort of do that, but not to that extent. Do you subcategorize by color or season?

      There’s a clothing donation drop right down the road. I take clothing and shoe things there and other items to Goodwill. It’s crazy what people will put out for trash. Did you see my score on Instagram?

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

