My 10×10 for 2016 (Pt. 8)

January 8th: Marriage

This one was a lot of fun. It’s important to make goals for this and put them on our calendars because the busier we are the less quality time we spend together.

1. Schedule dates in advance

If they aren’t on the calendar, they don’t happen.

2. Have more nerf battles

We get quite a thrill out of shooting each other. (This can’t be used against me in a court of law, right?)

3. Pray together more often

A three cord rope is not easily broken.

4. Be a fiscally responsible and communicative spouse

While we both work, Hubsy shoulders the majority of the worry about the finances. I am going to step away from my philosophy of, “hey, we’ve never missed a payment before now so why start worrying about it?” and be a better, more active steward of our finances to decrease the stress of worrying for him. If we both care, there’s less worry. (Funny that I work in accounting…)

5. Cross off some dates from my date wish list

Of course I have a list of dates I want to cross off.

6. Be supportive of his hobbies

Practice: “Yes, darling, I’d love to go fishing with you.”

44

7. Stop criticizing.

dcde90bce913d94781817606639e2584

8. Swap playlists

I have a special, super cute USB drive on which he gave me a playlist he had made for Valentine’s. We’ve always had music as a shared interest and this was such a personal way to gift it. I want to keep the tradition going and keep sending playlists back and forth.

9. Go on a mini-vacation, just the two of us

We never got a honeymoon because of our romantic elopement, and three years later it’s about time we have one.

10. Make the morning a positive time

Neither of us are naturally morning people and the mornings can be the worst part of our day. But when the morning is the worst part of your day it’s all up-hill from there.

 

What are your marriage or relationship goals this year? How are you going to keep the spark alive in such a fast-paced world?

Missed the other goal posts?

January 1st: Spirit
January 2nd: Family
January 3rd: Business
January 4th: Home & Stuff
January 5th: Giving
January 6th: Training
January 7th: Finances
3 thoughts on “My 10×10 for 2016 (Pt. 8)

Add yours

  1. Relationship goals: build bravery and vulnerability, accountability and honesty into each and every one of them and hold myself to that standard. Oh, and I wouldn’t mind beginning a marriage worthy relationship–but that’s His timing, not my own!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

