Don’t Make 100 Goals

If you’re familiar with my blog, you might remember the ten posts I made during the first ten days of the new year (2016), each containing a distinct area of life with ten goals, for a whopping total of 100 goals. I’ve gotten some mixed feedback on these posts and that’s okay.

Some people found the posts inspiring! My mom told me I was crazy and then turned around and chose 10 areas of scripture for which to compile her 10 favorite verses. (Hey, the tree doesn’t fall far from the apple, am I right?) Others shared their goals for 2016 with me. Still others, however, became overwhelmed by the idea of one hundred goals. I mean, isn’t that a little overkill? Doesn’t that stress you out? What happens when you don’t complete them? I have news for you:

You Don’t Have to Have 100 Goals

1. I don’t intend to complete them all.

Let me remind you of the first quote I fell in love with in 2016:

It must be borne in mind that the tragedy of life does not lie in not reaching your goal. The tragedy of life lies in having no goal to reach.

– Benjamin Mays

I have accepted the fact that I will not complete all of these goals this year. Some of these goals, I will never complete. But I’ll complete the important ones. I’ll complete the ones that stay relevant all year long. I’ll complete the ones that I work towards. I understand my limitations but more importantly I am inspired by my potential.

2. Certain seasons make goals unnecessary

When I was a young warthog…in college, I didn’t have time for lofty goals. I barely had time to eat between classes, work, and group projects.  I was at (or past) capacity and there was no room or need for more. Likewise, as a mother of a newborn, my goals were nigh on nonexistent. I was working on something more important than self-development: my baby. You catch my drift, I’m sure. There are times when goals add stress instead of remove stress and times when they’re unnecessary.

3. 100 is not a manageable number

You’ve probably heard of S.M.A.R.T. goals. It goes something like specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, and time-bound. The goals that I made basically fit none of those categories. I do believe in specific and realistic goals and all of that other stuff, too, but let’s be honest 100 goals isn’t realistic. And the goals that I made are not tightly time-bound neither are they specific. Many of these vague goals have to be broken down into achievable steps, so the total number of goals comes out to some number much greater than 100. If you’re just starting to make goals, maybe don’t start with 100.

4. You do you.

I make goals multiple times a year. It’s relaxing, refreshing, invigorating. These goals will morph and update with the times and the seasons of my life. I know how I operate and these goals are pushing me to excel in January. If they don’t last past then, I’ll be okay. I’ll do me. You do you.

Let go of any notion that you need 100 goals, or even 10. What stage of life are you in? Go from there.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Make 100 Goals

Add yours

  1. Oh NOW you tell me 😉 I think you are absolutely right and the ability to dream, to envision yourself accomplishing, completing, or even surpassing goals named by you and your heart is a beautiful collaboration because it opens the doors you may have let stay closed had you not taken a real and purposeful evaluation of.

    Also, the fact that you use commas throughout your lists (red, blue, and green vs. red, blue and green) makes my heart happy. Add that to the ever growing list of why my heart pays attention when you speak.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Abi,
    I love this post. 100 goals is a lot, but 0 is just sad. I’ve tried it both ways. I came out here to get your list of 10 areas so I could start getting all my goals organized. I’ve skinnied it down to 7 for me and I will create one 3 month goal in each area. So then I get to make goals 4x per year. =) Yay!

    Thanks for the inspiration!
    Love you!
    Karen

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

