Intro to the Capsule Wardrobe

Some people love fashion. All those magazines with the latest styles and the perfect fashion bloggers with endless creativity… But, for others, keeping up with the
trends is hard. And these others have started a new trend:

Meet the capsule wardrobe.

For a plethora of reasons, reducing your wardrobe size has become a new craze:
  1. it reduces the amount of decision overwhelm,
  2. it is the minimalistic approach to fashion and minimalism is all the rage,
  3. it creates a more consistent, cohesive style,
  4. it reduces your credit card bill since you will be more intentional and minimal about your clothing purchases,
  5. it reduces your laundry routine since you’ll run out of clothes sooner you’ll also run smaller loads, so you’ll never be buried under four loads of clean laundry at once,
  6. you get more bang for your buck out of each item,
  7. and on and on.

Most days, putting together an outfit is not my cup of tea. Staring at a closet every morning makes me wish I was still sleeping, so I can put off the stressful albeit creative process of presenting myself as a successful, hour-glass-figured, non-wrinkly individual. (Because that’s what we all want to be, right?) The capsule wardrobe is touted as the final solution.

1. It’s All About the Numbers (Not Really)

For most people, a capsule wardrobe is 30 pieces of clothing, not including undergarments and counting shoes by pairs. For example:
  • 3 dresses
  • 3 pants
  • 3 skirts
  • 8 tops
  • 2 scarves
  • 1 heavy jacket
  • 2 light jackets
  • 3 sweaters
  • 5 pairs of shoes
This is just an example, as each capsule wardrobe will look different. Many capsule wardrobes are seasonal, i.e. 20 pieces for spring, another 20 pieces for summer, another 20 for fall, another 20 for winter. This staves off boredom, which new converts can worry about. Lots of capsule wardrobes are bigger than this, too, so don’t get bogged down in the details. The point is to cut down, de-clutter, and only keep the things you love. 

2. Flattering Styles

Another wonderful purpose of culling out the crazy items and getting down to those things that make your shape look great. Love the way halter top dresses make your arms look? Keep those. Love your legs in skinny jeans? Keep those. Love flowing tops that give your midriff a bit of grace? Keep those. Love your calves in heels? Keep those. With a capsule wardrobe, you wear the style of clothes that make you look great and you throw away all the rest.

3. Cohesive Colors

Almost all the pieces in the capsule wardrobe should be interchangeable. How do you achieve this? A unified color scheme. My personal color scheme is pretty classic: black and red are my base colors, white, gray, and gold are my accents. This means all my pants will go with practically all my tops, because they’re all in a beautiful, meshing color family. Now, I do have pieces that are…more vibrant– for instance my red cheetah print skinny jeans—but even the unique pieces can still be paired with any of my solid tops.

4. Shopping Habits

My favorite part of the single color palette is the impact on my shopping. When I walk past a super darling sweater in green or lilac or a floral pattern that I absolutely love, I ooo and aah over it for a few seconds before I realize, “Oh, it’s not in my color scheme. What a shame. Aah, well.” I have no purchasing decision to make if it’s not my color. I’m sure this has saved me hundreds of dollars already. Same goes for the styles. I love the summer dresses that are all over the place, you know the one, they’re sleeveless, with a straightish bodice and flared skirt, but they have a seam or belt that runs right across the middle of your torso, three or four inches below the bust line but a few inches above the belly button. Here’s the deal, I’ve had these before and the cut does not look good on me. I’ve picked up probably forty of these dresses, but every time I pick one up I remember that I’ll never wear it after I see it on and put it back down. Boom, problem solved.

Now that you’ve read this whole thing,

I’m going to take you with me on a little pet project of mine: to get my ideal wardrobe, which is actually not a capsule wardrobe, but is heavily influenced by it. Today I brought you in on the springboard for my idea, which was the capsule wardrobe. Next up, I’ll show you the transformation in my wardrobe vision. Finally, I’ll show you my as-yet-unnamed solution to the dilemma of getting dressed every morning, which will take a couple of posts. Stay tuned!
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

