My 10×10 for 2016 (Pt 6.)

January 6th: Training

Welcome back to my 10×10 for day 6! What in the world does “Training” mean? Well, when I started a health and fitness board on Pinterest a million years ago, I titled it “Training for Life” and ever since then when I make fitness goals I always label them as training.

1. Gain muscle, lose fat

I think everyone made this goal at the beginning of the year.

2. Have a clean kitchen

The great thing about grocery shopping is you choose what you eat. If you buy ice cream, chances are you will eat ice cream. This one is a no-brainer but half the battle is resisting junk food when shopping.

3. Eat fruits & vegetables every day

This is kind of expounding on the goal above, but if I’m cutting unnecessary things out of my kitchen then I also need to be adding back good things.

4. Maintain a chart of weights and sets

I have been really bad so far about monitoring my weights. I just lift whatever is mostly comfortable but still challenging. This year I want to be recording how much I am lifting and how often so that I can see the progress. Often I’ll forget what I lift for a certain exercise and only later will I realize, hey, I upped my weight today! With a chart I’ll be able to see the good (and the bad) progress as it evolves.

5. Maintain a consistent routine

In 2015, I tried quite a few different routines. I would find something really challenging for legs and not care for my shoulder workout, so I spent a lot of time playing around with which exercises I really enjoy. Now that I’ve got some of that figured out, it’s time to be consistent.

6. Warm up, stretch, lift

Piggybacking on the last goal, I want my gym routine to consistently include warming up and stretching before getting in to my workout.

7. Develop meal list

I need a place where I keep a list of meals that we enjoy, and I say this for two purposes: 1) so that I have something to fall back on when I’m uninspired to cook, and 2) I can plan my meals and grocery lists with recipes in mind.

8. Feel good

This one is on everybody’s list too.

9. Wear more modest gym clothes

In the past, I’ve been wearing yoga pants or gym pants and a T-shirt or a tank top. And no, that’s not technically immodest. I had the vast majority of my body covered, but in 2016 I’d like to invest in some gym clothes that don’t hug so tightly and don’t show off so much.

10. Enjoy the gym

I discovered long ago that if you don’t enjoy what you’re doing, you won’t stick to it. (See ya later, Couch to 5k!) I wrote this down to remind me that if I’m not enjoying the challenge something needs to change: take a break, shake up the routine, find a gym buddy, workout at a different time of day, etc.

 

What are your fitness goals for 2016? Have these inspired anything for you?

Missed my previous 10×10 posts?

January 1st: Spirit
January 2nd: Family
January 3rd: Business
January 4th: Home & Stuff
January 5th: Giving

8 thoughts on “My 10×10 for 2016 (Pt 6.)

Add yours

  1. It’s…inspiring to see you so focused–but I have avoided completing a 10 x 10 due to the amount of discipline I plan on calling of myself; which includes this kind of training. Gulp.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. About your meal list…taking someone else’s advice, I’m currently tring/wanting to gather 30 to 31 meals/recipes that the whole family likes or is at least willing to eat so that we can potentially have a different meal each day of the month and use leftovers for lunches. I was told it helps with your weekly grocery shopping but seems oh so intimidating seeing as I find myself using the same 5 recipes over and over again. Lyndie is right…your listing is intimidating/inspiring. I’m not sure I have what it takes to make a list like this much less accomplish it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Val! I’ve made one of those before! They are really great, but I didn’t keep my updated and I repeated courses too often. Hmmm, might make a good blog post! I’d love to hear which meals you’re putting together!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

